top of page

Black Identity: An "Afrikan Way of Being™"


Fulani Brothers Guinea Bissau Amadou pegged me at first glance.

Last weeks zoom call as with many others was inspiring. A highlight of the conversation was about identity. African identity to be specific. This week I posed a question on facebook. I posed it to "white folks" although many of my non-white friends, some who have known me for over 20 years, also had their input.

"To white folks. Do you see me as an African or an American or both? And why?

There were only 17 likes but 62 comments within 24 hours and the responses varied. You know, even though this was on social media, everyone was really thoughtful.


One brothers comment, "Valid question, but why does it matter what white people see you as?" another brother responded to his question. "it’s important dialogue in my opinion. I don’t think they are in no way seeking validation from white people but instead challenging their conditionings". This was indeed the intent of my question. In this current climate of racial awareness, I wanted to know how white people see black bodies.


An older Hispanic man responded, "I see you as partially African, because that has informed your experience growing up and being an adult. I partly see you as American, because we share many of our common experiences, and I can understand you better that way. But mostly I see you as an individual because only that way can I appreciate the full measure of what you mean to me." A brother responded, "African does not inform our lives at all. We have way less in common with Africans than we do with white Americans... in my opinion". The Hispanic man then sought to correct his original statement by responding this way, "By that I meant African-American, sorry. The Black American experience."


A white woman colleague comments, "I'm British, so it's informed from that experience. American with African heritage." And for this BMTT post I add this comment from another brother, "I love this because it’s showing how colonized everyone’s minds are‼️ this is a good question because it has shown me, white peoples guilt and inability to acknowledge the racial caste system they created. While also pointing out colorism, from people of African descent trying to create more space from their heritage, by aligning with dominant culture. TEA."



My facebook response, : I have seen myself as an oppressed Black person in America. From as long as I can remember in America I, my immediate family, cousins, and my Black community have been oppressed and not given respect or dignity here in America. I am however an African. I am the family Griot, the genealogist, I know the names of my Grandparents dating back to the late 1800s. They are my closet relatives to the African continent. For their parent's parents were born in Africa... So the fact is Africa is my beginning. I am only here in America because my family is from Africa. My genealogy is traced back to Guinea Bissau, Cape Verde, and Portugal. I have travelled to Cape Verde and Portugal the place of my families beginnings. In Cape Verde (2) I have been welcomed with open arms. I have been to many European and African countries. In Africa, I was at home. I am respected and given dignity in a way that I have never experienced anywhere else in the world. These African experiences revealed to me that I am African. I am an American citizen, I hold an American passport etc. I have lived in America all my life. I experienced human dignity in Africa. - I appreciate my friends who have expressed their care for me and still do. And the new fb friends I have gotten closer to via this post. Much love and peace. Keita (an African name meaning blessing)."



Personally my identity has not always been as secure as it is NOW. Born and reared in America has been a challenge to my dignity. My dignity comes from a knowing and acceptance of my identity. My identity is wrapped up in my African heritage. Until recently, I have not explored what it meant for me to be African. I am an American citizen by virtue of the historical mess that is America. My family genealogy is dressed in the citizenry of America by way of abduction and chattel slavery. My family is African and every other Black person around me is some sort of African too. As an African, there is an "African Way of Being™", I am not here alone I have you guys. Keita (Chris)


I am the Managing Director of our non-profit retreat center and we are launching programs in 2021 on Afrikan Identity. Will you go to the newly site I created and join us for updates? http://sankofaretreats.net.




OnOne e o Folks. Do you see me as an African or an American or both? And why?

18 views2 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page